Seven named for AB tour

Seven named for AB tour

Seven Blues players will head to USA and Europe on the northern tour with the All Blacks this week.

Rieko Ioane has been selected on the wing as one of the new players in the touring squad, and is joined by loose forward Steven Luatua, who returns to the All Blacks for the first time since 2014.

They join the current All Blacks squad members, Jerome Kaino (74 caps), Charlie Faumuina (42), Ofa Tu’ungafasi (2), Patrick Tuipulotu (10) and George Moala (3).

“We welcome in Rieko who has been picked for the first time. He has shown tremendous abilities and deserves his opportunity,” said coach Steve Hansen

Two Blues players, James Parsons and Sonny Bill Williams were not considered because of injury.

The All Blacks take on Ireland in Chicago on 5 November, Italy in Rome on 12 November, Ireland at Dublin on 19 November and France in Paris on 26 November.