Players selected for U18 camp

Players selected for U18 camp

The best teenage rugby talent in the region will attend the annual Blues Under-18 Camp over the July school holidays.

Fifty players from 21 schools have been selected from 230 nominations put forward from schools in the Northland, North Harbour and Auckland rugby regions.

They will go into camp at Mt Albert Grammar from Sunday 8 to Thursday 12 July before fielding two teams to take on the Hurricanes at Owen Delany Park in Taupo on Sunday 15 July.

The players will receive tuition from all the Mitre-10 coaches in the region including Derren Witcombe and George Konia (Northland); Tom Coventry and Dan Halangahu (North Harbour); and Alama Ieremia, Filo Tiatia and Tai Lavea (Auckland).

Current Blues players including Jerome Kaino, Sonny Bill Williams, Patrick Tuipulotu, Scott Scrafton, Dalton Papalii and Otere Black will also present at the camp.

“It was a challenging job to select the final 50 players with the outstanding quality within our secondary schools scene and is a testament to the school programs and coaching they receive,” said Blues Talent Identification and Development Manager, Shane King.

“After receiving a record number of nominations, we have run a series of combine days throughout the regions and watched a lot of games to whittle things down to our final 50 players.

“We are excited about the talent available, and also the outstanding contributions from our provincial union coaches and leading players.”

The Blues legacy looks set to continue with Hamdahn Tuipulotu from St Peters College (brother of Patrick Tuipulotu) and Kitiona Vai (De La Salle), brother of Melani Nanai, among the players selected.

The Future Blues programme is proudly sponsored by G-Mana Wholesale Autos.

The players attending the camp are:

Benet Kumeroa
Sam Rainger
Saula Mau
Olliver Parkinson
Corey Evans
(Auckland Grammar)

Vainikolo Halafihi
Kali Vaipulu
(Aorere College)

Ryan Nankivell
(Bay of Islands College)

Kitiona Vai
Eric Ah Hing
(De La Salle College)

Tevita Hala
(Dilworth School)

Jack Doyle (Kaitaia College)
Ray Tuaimalo-Vaega
Zion Tanielu
(Kelston BHS)

Millenium Sanerviri
James Brown,
Noah Perelini
Thorn Parkes
Zarn Sullivan,
Aidan Morgan
(Kings College)

Soane Vikena
Terrell Peita
Joel Cobb
(Mt Albert Grammar)

Aisea Tuifeleaki
(Massey High School);

Jed Melvin
(Orewa HS)

Javarne Porter,
Kingi Herewini
(Rodney College)

Braedyn Collins
Julian Vaea
(Rosmini College)

Zyon Holo
Hamdahn Tuipulotu
Niko Jones
Samuel Wye
Apetone Vaka
(St Peters College)

Christian Tuipulotu
(St Pauls College)

Matt Graeme – Williams,
Tiaan Tauakipulu
Mahonri Ngakuru
Robert Rush
Cameron Church
Sila Tuititi
(St Kentigern College)

Crusader Faletagoai
Sam Heilmann
Taufa Funaki
Josh Jacomb
Chay Fihaki
Terry Pongi
Brian Leliafano
(Sacred Heart College)

Lockie McNair
Jackson Rice
Oscar Koller
Caleb Leef
(Takapuna Grammar)

Eliesa Katoa
(Tamaki College)

Alfred Nonu
(Tangaroa College)

Tiennan Costley
(Westlake BHS).