NZ Secondary Schools laden with Blues talent

NZ Secondary Schools laden with Blues talent

Following on from a successful Under 18 Camp earlier this month, 14 players from the Blues region have been named in teams for the 2020 New Zealand Secondary Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools teams.


Despite having significantly less game time due to regional coronavirus restrictions, both teams feature a strong contingent of talent from throughout the Blues region including 12 players from Auckland Rugby Union, as well as one each from the North Harbour and Northland Rugby Unions.

The large contingent of Blues regional talent is all the more remarkable considering the Auckland 1A competition completed only five rounds this year, leaving the players short of match time to impress the national selectors.


All 14 Blues representatives were a part of Blues Under 17 programme in 2019, in what is a huge credit to the work and dedication of the Talent Identification & Development Managers throughout the region.


Most impressive is that the quintet of Che Clark (Kings College), Tony Tafa (Kelston Boys High School), Jeremiah Asi (St Peters College), Lucas Payne (Dargaville College) and Chicago Doyle (Kings College) are still Year 12 students who have a further year left at school to grow their considerable talents.


Unfortunately for the boys there will be no games in 2020, however they will be presented with jerseys to recognise their efforts in what has been a challenging season full of disruption.

New Zealand Secondary Schools Team 2020:

Ajay Faleafaga (St Peters College)

Allan Craig (St Kentigern College)

Caleb Tangitau (Westlake Boys High School)

Che Clarke (Kings College)

Fehi Fineanganofo (Auckland Grammar School)

Luron Iosefa (Kings College)

Will Bason (St Kentigern College)


New Zealand Barbarians Secondary Schools Team 2020:

Chicago Doyle (Kings College)

Dayton Iobu (Kings College)

Jadin Kingi (Sacred Heart College)

Jeremiah Asi (St Peters College)

Lucas Payne (Dargaville College)

Tony Tafa (Kelston Boys High School)

Wallace Sititi (De La Salle College)