Nock, Trainor named in U20s

Nock, Trainor named in U20s

Blues players Sam Nock (2016) and Jordan Trainor (2016) have been selected for the NZ Under 20 team to compete in the Under 20 World Championship in Manchester this coming June.

Dalton Papali’i (Auckland and Blues U20/A) and Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a (North Harbour and Blues U20s) have also been selected.

While the players were notified prior to the team naming, there was still a strong sense of excitement for Nock and Trainor.

“Because of our age, the coaches decided to prepare us for Under-20s as our main goal,” said Nock.

“It’s always been my goal while at school to make the team,” said Nock. “When we (Nock and Trainor) came in to the Blues, because of our age, the coaches decided to prepare us for Under 20s as our main goal.”

“If you can perform well in Under 20s, you can usually perform at a higher level as well.”

Coach Scott Robertson said the Super Rugby players would be bringing in some strong professionalism and experience in to the team.

“We’ve got six players from Super Rugby teams, two guys returning from last year’s team, and we have nine players young enough to be eligible to play again next year,” said Robertson. “It’s a good balance – a little bit of experience, youth and exuberance from the young fellas, and the professionalism from the Super players.”

The New Zealand Under 20 squad assembles in Mt Maunganui on 27 May ahead of a game against the Chiefs Development side on Monday 30 May.




Ayden Johnstone          Waikato    

Shaun Stodart              Otago    

Sean Paranihi               Canterbury    

Alex Fidow                   Wellington    

Sosefo Kautai               Waikato


Leni Apisai, captain      Wellington/Hurricanes    

Asafo Aumua                Wellington



Quinten Strange           Tasman    

Hamish Dalzell             Canterbury


Lock /Loose Forward

Isaia Walker-Leawere   Wellington    

Fin Hoeata                   Taranaki


Loose Forward

Mitchell Jacobson         Waikato    

Luke Jacobson              Waikato    

Dalton Papali’i              Auckland    

Marino Mikaele Tu’u       Hawke’s Bay

Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a  North Harbour



Jonathan Taumateine     Counties Manukau

Sam Nock                       Northland/Blues


First five-eighth

Stephen Perofeta           Taranaki    

TJ Va’a                          Wellington/Hurricanes



Orbyn Leger                   Counties Manukau

Jordie Barrett                Canterbury    

Patelesio Tomkinson       Otago/Highlanders



Jonah Lowe                    Hawke’s Bay

Malo Tuitama                  Wellington


Outside back

Caleb Makene                Canterbury    

Shaun Stevenson            Waikato/Chiefs

Jordan Trainor               Waikato/Blues


World Rugby Under 20 Championship

7-25 June

Manchester, England


New Zealand Under 20 match schedule (local times)


Pool A Matches


Tuesday 7 June

New Zealand v Georgia

1945 hrs

AJ Bel Stadium, Salford


Saturday 11 June

New Zealand v Ireland

1330 hrs

Manchester City Academy Stadium, Manchester


Wednesday 15 June

New Zealand v Wales

1730 hrs

AJ Bel Stadium, Salford


Semifinal playoffs will be played on 20 June ahead of the 25 June Final.