MAGS win Secondary School 10s

MAGS win Secondary School 10s

Mt Albert Grammar School (MAGS) and Kaipara College have continued their domination of the Westie Pies Secondary School 10s Tournament with wins in the respective boys’ and girls’ division finals over the weekend.

It’s the third year in a row that MAGS has won the boys’ division title, following a hard-fought 13-5 victory over an impressive De La Salle College (DLS) side on Saturday. The South Auckland school ran out to an early lead inside three minutes, but were held scoreless for the rest of the match.

In their previous game, DLS dominated Kelston Boys High School in the semi final, 31-0. But MAGS were made to work hard in theirs, eventually prevailing over Westlake Boys High School 15-7.

Meanwhile, Kaipara College has now won the girls’ division both years that it’s been contested. They surged ahead of fellow finalists Aorere College, leading 12-0 at the break, then outlasted Aorere – who never gave in – to win 24-7.

Blues high performance manager Tony Hanks commented: “The quality of all the rugby being played in the weekend was of a good standard considering it is very early in the season.

“Kaipara girls continue to improve and build on their success from last year, while MAGS, De La Salle and Westlake will be teams to watch this season.”

Overall, 18 schools competed in the tournament, which kicked off at midday on the outer fields of QBE Stadium. The semi finals and finals were played inside the stadium from 4:20pm, ahead of the Blues v Bulls Super Rugby match.

The tournament was established after the Blues won the inaugural World Club 10s event in Singapore in 2014. Teams of ten played ten-minute halves, often resulting in a quicker, more free-flowing contest than the traditional 15-a-side version.

In this week’s KFC curtain raiser ahead of our match against the Force at Eden Park, Blues A will take on the Hurricanes Development side. Kick off is at 2:50pm, before the main event gets underway at the earlier time of 5:15pm.