Luke Braid to captain North team

Luke Braid to captain North team

Blues loose forward Luke Braid has been handed the captain’s armband for Sunday’s North v South match at Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin.
Braid, who has assumed the role of Blues captain after Keven Mealamu and Jerome Kaino were sidelined with injuries, has also been bestowed the honour of captaining the North side.
The 23-year-old lines up at blindside flanker and is joined by four of his Blues teammates in the starting XV.
Filo Paulo, Lachie Munro, David Raikuna and Hadleigh Parkes will all line up against the South team, while hooker Tom McCartney and wing Sherwin Stowers have been named on the bench.
Alby Mathewson was forced to withdraw from joining the North team earlier in the week due to an injury.

The North team is:

1.†Josh Hohneck (Chiefs)
2. Dane Coles (Hurricanes)
3. Toby Smith (Chiefs)
4. James Broadhurst (Hurricanes)
5. Filo Paulo (Blues)
6. Faifili Levave (Hurricanes)
7. Luke Braid (Blues) – Capt
8. Brad Shields (Hurricanes)
9. Brendon Leonard (Chiefs)
10. Lachie Munro (Blues)
11. David Raikuna (Blues)
12. Hadleigh Parkes (Blues)
13. Richard Buckman (Hurricanes)
14. Lelia Masaga (Chiefs)
15. Robbie Robinson (Chiefs)
16. Tom McCartney (Blues)
17. Jeffery Toomaga-Allen (Hurricanes)†
18. Fritz Lee (Chiefs)
19. Scott Waldrom (Chiefs)
20. Frae Wilson (Hurricanes)
21. James Marshall (Hurricanes)
22. Sherwin Stowers (Blues)

The South team is:

1. Jamie Mackintosh (Highlanders)
2. Jason Rutledge (Highlanders) – Capt
3. Chris King (Highlanders)
4. Jarrad Hoeata (Highlanders)
5. Tom Donnelly (Crusaders)
6. Scott Fuglistaller (Highlanders)
7. Matt Todd (Crusaders)
8. Luke Whitelock (Crusaders)
9. Jimmy Cowan (Highlanders)
10. Tom Marshall (Crusaders)
11. Adam Whitelock (Crusaders)
12. Kendrick Lynn (Highlanders)
13. Kade Poki (Highlanders)
14. Buxton Popoali’i (Highlanders)
15. Kurt Baker (Highlanders)
16. Ma’afu Fia (Highlanders)
17. Quentin MacDonald (Crusaders)
18. Culum Retallick (Highlanders)
19. Tim Boys (Highlanders)
20. Willi Heinz (Crusaders)
21. Glenn Dickson (Highlanders)
22. Patrick Osborne (Crusaders)