Kaino receives Player of the Year nomination

Kaino receives Player of the Year nomination

Jerome Kaino’s formidable return to top level rugby in this year’s Investec Super Rugby season along with stand-out Crusaders wing Nemani Nadolo, and the ever impressive Chief’s lock Brodie Retallick see all three receive well deserved nominations for the Investec Super Rugby Player of theYear.

The All Blacks are nominated for the Adidas Team of theYear, Steve Hansen is in line for Coach of the Year, Richie McCaw, BrodieRetallick and Aaron Smith, are all nominated for the Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year.

Under Hansen’s guidance the All Blacks equalled the record of 17 consecutive victories by a major nation, secured a clean sweep in the Steinlager Series against England, won the Bledisloe Cup for a 12th year in a row and a third successive Investec Rugby Championship title and returned home undefeated from the MyRepublic Northern Tour.

Their success was recognised earlier this week by their international peerswhen they were named World Rugby Team of the Year; Hansen; Coach of the Yearand Retallick; Player of the Year.

The All Blacks are joined as nominees for adidas Team of the Year by AucklandStorm who picked up their seventh straight Women’s Provincial Championship title, and this year’s ITM Cup Championship and Premiership winners, Manawatu Turbos and Tender Link Taranaki.

Taranaki’s historic fairy tale claim on their first ITM Cup Premiership title,coupled with the Maori All Blacks successful two match tour of Japan sees the coach of both teams; Colin Cooper receive a nod for Coach of the Year. Also recognised for propelling Tasman into their first ITM Cup premiership final isMakos coach Kieran Keane.

The New Zealand Women’s Sevens team secured their second successive Women’sSevens Series title this year, earning regular team members Sarah Goss, Kayla McAlister and Tyla Nathan-Wong nominations for Women’s Sevens Player of theYear.

The All Blacks Sevens won their fourth consecutive World Series title this year. Captain DJ Forbes was again the team’s lynchpin and along with Scott Curry earned spots in the IRB Sevens Dream Team of the Year. They, along with the 2013 IRB Sevens Player of the Year Tim Mikkelson, are nominated for the Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year.

The Steinlager Salver Award recognising a person’s exceptional contribution to New Zealand rugby will also be announced on the night.

The 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards will be held at the Viaduct Events Centre onThursday, 11 December and broadcast on SKY Sport. See note below for detailsaround the new arrangements for media wishing to cover the awards.

2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards nominations

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year

Mitchell Karpik
Damian McKenzie
Sio Tomkinson

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year

Dean File
Mike Nitz
Trudie van Leeuwen-Cruthers

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year

Jessica Beard
Nick Briant
Glen Jackson

Pink Batts Heartland Championship Player of the Year

Josh Clark
James Lash
Gary Redmond

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year

Sarah Goss
Kayla McAlister
Tyla Nathan-Wong

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year

Scott Curry
DJ Forbes
Tim Mikkelson

Sky Television Fans Try of the Year

Beauden Barrett; Hurricanes v Highlanders
Malakai Fekitoa; Sharks v Highlanders
Alapati Leiua; Crusaders v Hurricanes

ITM Cup Player of the Year

Shane Christie
Nehe Milner-Skudder
Seta Tamanivalu

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year

Jerome Kaino
Nemani Nadolo
Brodie Retallick

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year

Liam Messam
Charlie Ngatai
Aaron Smith

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year

Rawinia Everitt
Fiao’o Fa’amausili
Amiria Rule

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year

Colin Cooper
Steve Hansen
Kieran Keane

Adidas Team of the Year

All Blacks
Auckland Storm
Manawatu Turbos
TenderLink Taranaki

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year

Richie McCaw
Brodie Retallick
Aaron Smith