Kaino Named Best Super Rugby Player

Kaino Named Best Super Rugby Player

Blues and AllBlacks loose forward Jerome Kaino has been named Investec Super Rugby Player ofthe Year at the 2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards Thursday night.

Kaino, who will captain the Blues in next year’s Investec Super Rugby, enjoyed a strong return to Super Rugby this year which earned him an All Blacks recall.

Although Kaino was unable to make the awards ceremony, he was eager to express his gratitude to his team as well as to look forward to the upcoming season.

“I’m looking forward to getting back out there with the boys again to improve on last year,” said Kaino. “Not just improve but to win the competition! I’m really excited to get out there with our new boys and to reconnect with the brothers as well.”

Blues head coach Sir John Kirwan said Kaino has quickly returned to the form he showed before venturing overseas and he is looking forward to his role with the team in 2015.

“Jerome brings everything you want in a captain ñ leadership on the field, leadership off the field. He is also an X Factor player.”

2014 Steinlager Rugby Awards winners

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
Damian McKenzie (Waikato)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
Dean File (Horowhenua Kapiti)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
Glen Jackson (Bay of Plenty)

Pink Batts Heartland Championship Player of the Year
James Lash (Buller)

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)

Sky Television Fans Try of the Year
Malakai Fekitoa; Sharks v Highlanders

ITM Cup Player of the Year
Seta Tamanivalu (Taranaki)

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year
Jerome Kaino (Auckland)

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
Aaron Smith (Ngati Kahungunu)

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year
Rawinia Everitt (Counties Manukau)

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year
Steve Hansen

adidas Team of the Year
All Blacks

Steinlager Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby
Dick Littlejohn (Bay of Plenty)

Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year
Brodie Retallick (Waikato)