Ieremia leads Blues ‘A’ team

Ieremia leads Blues ‘A’ team

A number of Blues players will come off the injured list and back on to the playing field this weekend for Alama Ieremia’s first Blues A team of 2020.

“It’s an honour to lead the Blues A for the first time” said Ieremia “I hope it continues to help strengthen the alignment between the Provincial Unions and the Blues moving forward”

While the Blues and Hurricanes do battle in the Investec Super Rugby contest at Sky Stadium on Saturday night, the annual battle with the respective A teams will take place earlier in the day, also in Wellington.

The Blues will welcome a number of players back from injury to take part including Captain and loose forward Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa, halfback Finlay Christie, first five Jack Heighton and fullback Jared Page.

Ieremia said of his returning players “I’m hoping the Blues players take this opportunity to perform and play well tomorrow, especially those players returning from injury.”

Added to the group of returning players comes hooker Luteru Tolai, who made his debut as a replacement in South Africa, Marcel Renata, Emoni Narawa and Jordan Hyland. All will be using the match to get invaluable game time under their belts.

There will also be interest in a number of players who have been training with the Blues including Sam Caird, Tamati Tua and ITC players Taufu Funaki and Zarn Sullivan, along with NZ7s player Niko Jones.

When asked about their preparation Ieremia was pleased with what he’s seen from his first Blues A team for the season. “It’s good to see the hunger there, to prepare well and to perform tomorrow.”

The Blues A team to meet Hurricanes A at Evans Bay Park on Saturday at 1pm is:

Starting XV:

1. Joe Walsh, 2. Luteru Tolai, 3. Marcel Renata, 4. Samipeni Finau, 5. Sam Caird, 6. Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa ©️, 7. Niko Jones, 8. Sam McNamara, 9. Finlay Christie, 10. Jack Heighton, 11. Emoni Narawa, 12. Tamati Tua, 13. AJ Lam, 14. Jordan Hyland, 15. Jared Page


16. Kianu Kereru-Symes, 17. Fatongia Paea, 18. Jack Straker, 19. Xavier Cowley-Tuioti, 20. Jonah Mau’u, 21. Taufa Funaki, 22. Zarn Sullivan, 23. Tomas Aoake, 24. Joel Cobb

Follow @bluesrugbyteam on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook to keep up to date with all Blues rugby news.