Five Blues Players on Barbarians Squad

Five Blues Players on Barbarians Squad

Blues coach Sir John Kirwan has called up five of his 2014 Blues players to play for the Barbarians in the upcoming match against Australia in Twickenham on November 1.

The team was announced yesterday, showcasing 27 players from eight countries who will compete alongside one another in the UK.
The five Blues players will be dotted throughout the squad, with prop forward Angus Ta’avao and hooker James Parsons making up two of the front row.Winger Frank Halai and centre Francis Saili will be seen in the backs.
Back row forward Steven Luatua will be joining the Barbarians squad after missing out on selection for the All Blacks end of year USA and UK tour.
Also joining the squad is All Blacks first five, Colin Slade, who scored the game winning two-point conversion in the 3rd Bledisloe Cup game last Saturday. Slade was left off the All Blacks bench after Dan Carter and Aaron Cruden were called back up to the position.
Scotland lock Ali Kellock (Glasgow) and the South African trio of centre Juan de Jongh (Stormers), scrum half Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs) and fly half Marnitz Boschoff (Lions) will be joining the squad.
Three Argentina internationals are on duty against Australia before joining the Pumas’ European tour. Full back Joaquin Tuculet, scrum half Tomas Cubelli and lock Matias Alemanno all featured in the 21-17 win over Australia in Mendoza earlier this month.The team will gather in London next week in preparation for the game on November 1.

Barbarians squad

Backs (12)

Tim Nanai Williams (Chiefs)
Joaquin Tuculet (Grenoble & Argentina)
Patrick Osborne (Highlanders)
Frank Halai (Blues & New Zealand)
Juan de Jongh (Stormers & South Africa)
Nick Cummins (Coca Cola West Red Sparks & Australia)
Francis Saili (Blues & New Zealand)
Colin Slade (Crusaders & New Zealand)
Marnitz Boshoff (Golden Lions & South Africa)
Tomas Cubelli (Belgrano Ath & Argentina)
Sarel Pretorius (Cheetahs)
Fumiaki Tanaka (Highlanders & Japan)
Forwards (15)
Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs & South Africa)
Matt Stevens (Sharks & England)
Thomas Du Toit (Sharks)
Angus Ta’avao (Blues)
James Parsons (Blues)
Mahonri Schwalger (Chiefs & Samoa)
Michael Rhodes (Stormers)
Matias Alemanno (La Tablada & Argentina)
Dominic Bird (Canterbury & New Zealand)
Al Kellock (Glasgow & Scotland)
Adam Thomson (Canon Eagles & New Zealand)
Matt Todd (Crusaders & New Zealand)
Steven Luatua (Blues & New Zealand)
Heinrich Brussow (Cheetahs & South Africa)
Jacques Botes (Sharks)