Blues U20s to Play Chiefs

Blues U20s to Play Chiefs

Ahead of tonight’s big game in Dunedin, our Under 20s will kick off the Blues Development Programme against the Under 20s Chiefs in Waihi tomorrow.

A squad of 36 players has been working hard since assembling for a camp at the Blues and the MERC Centre in Long Bay on February 3rd.

This year the squad is led by our five ITC players (Rob Cobb, Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa, Hoskins Sotutu, Harry Plummer and Tanielu Tele’a) and Sione Havili who have all progressed though the U18 programme in recent seasons.  The side for tomorrow’s match also includes Taufa Funaki who is currently at Sacred Heart College and current Blues player Caleb Clarke who is returning from a successful campaign with NZ 7s.

The build up to the games included two days training with the Blues players (who did not attend the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens). The two days allowed the young players to work with, and against our returning All Blacks and senior players and take away valuable learning and experience.

Current contracted players TJ Faiane, Michael Tamoaieta, Dalton Papalii (2016/17 Captain), Tamati Tua, Jordan Trainor and Caleb Clarke have featured in recent Under 20 teams.

Tony Hanks, General Manager of High Performance, said “the programme works closely alongside the excellent work done in our provincial union academies and allows us to engage with the best talent in the region to continue building aspiration and connection with our local players.”

The Under 20s team will be playing the Hurricanes Under 20s development team next Saturday as part of the double header.

The Future Blues programme is proudly sponsored by G-Mana Wholesale Autos. Additional photos can be located here.

  1. Leka Tu’ungafasi
  2. Luteru Tolai
  3. Robb Cobb
  4. Ben Sa’u
  5. John Akauola-Laula
  6. Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa (CC)
  7. Aleks Dabek
  8. Sione Havili
  9. Taufa Funaki
  10. Harry Plummer
  11. Caleb Clarke
  12. Sebastian Visinia
  13. Scott Gregory
  14. Lemeki Namoa
  15. Matt Storm
  16. Penisoni Fineanganofo
  17. Leon Thambiran
  18. Feao Teutau
  19. Max Hicks
  20. Tamarau McGahan
  21. Jack Heighton
  22. Wiseguy Faiane
  23. Patrick Pati
  24. AJ Lam
  25. John Cooper
  26. Nathan Va’atausili

Dan Halangahu, Coach
Ben Afeaki, Assistant Coach
Steven Bates, Assistant Coach
Grant Wilson, Manager
Mark Plummer, Physio
Jaco Pretorius, Physio
Josh Yarnton, Performance Analyst
Jeremy Giles, Trainer