Blues U17 Squad Announced for 2018

Blues U17 Squad Announced for 2018

Image: 2017 Blues Under 17 Development Squad training at Alexandra Park, Auckland.

We’re pleased to announce the under 17 players who have been identified as players with future potential and selected for the 2018 Blues Under 17 Development Squad.

Blues High Performance Manager Tony Hanks led a team of talent identification staff from Northland, North Harbour and Auckland, who were tasked with selecting the 50 young players from the region.

They paid particular attention to the Blues Under 16 tournament, which culminated with the Blues Development Super Weekend in September.

Shane King, Talent Identification and Player Development Manager said: “This year’s group was particularly difficult to select, with well over 100 players nominated by their Provincial Unions.”

King also added that “The quality of young men playing in the Blues Under 16 Tournament, continues to improve every year and it reflects well, not only on the obvious talent in our region but also on the time, effort and expertise, schools in our region invest into their players.”

The players have been invited to attend three development days as part of the Blues Under 17 Development Programme. Development days will be held at the Blues High Performance Centre, with the first on Saturday, 9 December 2017, from 9 am to 3 pm and the 2018 camps on Friday, 19 January, and Friday, 13 July.

The programme is designed to provide the developing players with some insight into the life of a professional rugby player. Each player will be able to work with expert staff and professional players during the three days, as well as being introduced to the Blues Way, values and expectations, and NZRU’s 6 Pillars of Development.

Parents and guardians of the players are also invited to participate in the programme and will be able to attend specific sessions during the camps.

The Under-17 squad is the first step in the Blues Development pathway and in recent years has seen graduates like Akira and Rieko Ioane, Blake Gibson, TJ Faiane, Sam Nock, Jordan Trainor, Scott Scrafton, Sione Mafileo, and Patrick Tuipulotu.

The Future Blues programme is proudly sponsored by G-Mana Wholesale Autos.

The players selected are:

Jackson Wiggans – Glendowie College

Josh Jacomb – Sacred Heart College

Mateo Taiseni – Sacred Heart College

Cameron Church – St Kentigern College

Harrison Dakin StKentigern College

Tiaan Tauakipulu – St Kentigern College

Valance Yates – St Kentigern College

Vaiolini Ekuasi – De La Salle College

Sofai Maka – De La Salle College

Ioane Moananu – De La Salle College

Waiora Morris – Kings College

Levi Uluakiahoia – Kings College

Manu Paea – Otahuhu College

Alfred Nonu – Tangaroa College

Raymon Sua – Kelston Boys

Kennedy Limpus – Kelston Boys

Dylan Moon – Mt Albert Grammar

Joel  Cobb – Mt Albert Grammar

Luka Klubien – Mt Albert Grammar

Zach Patai – Auckland Grammar School

Rylee Samuela – Auckland Grammar School

Saia Moala – Auckland Grammar School

Naryan  Strickland – St Peter’s College

Semisi Tapa – St Peter’s College

Chay Fihaki – Sacred Heart College

Brian Lealiifano – Sacred Heart College

Junior Mafileo – Tamaki College

Aidan Morgan – Kings College

Soane Vikena – Mt Albert Grammar

Corey Evans – Auckland Grammar School

Rocky Momoisea – St Paul’s College

Leon Pearson – Orewa College

Ryan Mead –Rangitoto College

Eric Leef – Rangitoto College

Jarrad Harford – Westlake Boys H S

Jock Mc Kenzie – Westlake Boys H S

Jordan Quinn – Westlake Boys H S

David Toia-Hafoha – Westlake Boys H S

Frey Carlton Paora Chamberlin – Birkenhead College

Karl Ruzich – Kaipara College

Jack Natupu – Takapuna Grammar

Jackson Rice – Takapuna Grammar

Ryan Nankivell – Bay of Islands College

Memphis Ngaruhe – Kaitaia College

Dennis Koro – Kerikeri HS

Chad Boyd – Kerikeri HS

Keenan Rush – Kerikeri HS

Jordan  Dwight – Kamo High School

Patrick  Allebera – Rodney College

Javarne Porter – Rodney College

Esile  Fono – Whangarei Boys High School