Blues name first team for 2020

Blues name first team for 2020

The Blues have named their team to play the Chiefs at a sold out Waihi Athletic Rugby Club on Friday. TJ Faiane has been named captain in a side which features Waihi Rugby’s own Kurt Eklund at Hooker. The reserves bench is packed in typical pre-season fashion, as the coaches look to give a majority of their squad some game time under their belts.

Starting XV:

1 Alex Hodgman

2 Kurt Eklund

3 Marcel Renata

4 Jacob Pierce

5 James Tucker

6 Waimana Riedlinger-Kapa

7 Blake Gibson

8 Akira Ioane

9 Jonathan Ruru

10 Otere Black

11 A J Lam

12 TJ Faiane ©

13 Tamati Tua

14 Mark Telea

15 Matt Duffie



16 Ezekiel Lindenmuth

17 Tevita Mafileo

18 Ray Niuia

19 Luteru Tolai/ Soane Vikena

20 Sam Caird

21 Aaron Carroll

22 Josh Goodhue

23 Dalton Papalii

24 Tom Robinson

25 Tony Lamborn

26 Hoskins Sotutu

27 Sam Nock

28 Lewis Gjaltema

29 Stephen Perofeta

30 Jordan Hyland

31 Harry Plummer

32 Tanielu Tele’a

33 Joe Marchant

34 Emoni Narawa

35 Zarn Sullivan

Kick off at 3pm, Waihi Athletic Rugby Club.

Follow the Blues on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter to keep up to date with all the action from the game @bluesrugbyteam