Blues announce Under 20 team

Blues announce Under 20 team

The Blues have named a strong Under 20 team for the fixture against the Hurricanes in Taupo this coming Wednesday. The fixture is a new initiative coming under the Development XV programme in 2015. The Development XV programme has already started off strong with a 22-13 win over the Chiefs last week.

Blues High Performance director, Tony Hanks, said the Under 20 team “provides our young players in their first year or two out of school an opportunity to play in Blues colours.”

“Many of the players have graduated from the Blues Under 18 programme while other players have been identified during the Provincial Under 19 tournament.”

“We identified the need to provide the players in the region a bridge between Under 18 and Development rugby as part of their pathway to play Super Rugby for the Blues in the future.”

The Team will be captained by TJ Faiane who was part of the NZ Under 20 team in 2014 and was a standout in his first ITM cup season for Auckland. Steve Jackson and David Hill will coach the team.

Kick off is at 1.30pm
Wednesday 25th February
Owen Delany Park, Taupo

Team to play:

1. Isi Tu’ungafasi (Auckland)
2. Liam Polwart (Auckland)
3. Mike Tamoaieta (Auckland)
4. Sam Ulufonua (Auckland)
5. Jamie Lane (Auckland)
6. Dillon Wihongi (North Harbour)
7. Luke Cunis (Auckland)
8. Jacob Mitiu (Northland)
9. Mike Kennedy (Auckland)
10. Mitchell Hunt (Auckland)
11. Pryor Collier (Auckland)
12. TJ Faiane (Auckland) (C)
13. Will Talataina-Mu (Auckland)
14. Cory Evers (Northland)
15. D’Angelo Leuila (Auckland)
16. Romero Tagi (Auckland)
17. Junior Halafuka (Auckland)
18. Marco Fepuleai (Auckland)
19. Matu Tevi (North Harbour)
20. Dylan Lam (North Harbour)
21. Nico Costa (North Harbour)
22. Daniel Lee (North Harbour)
23. Siope Ngata (Auckland)