Blues Under 18 teams to face Chiefs

Blues Under 18 teams to face Chiefs

Two Blues Under 18 teams have been selected to take on the Chiefs Under 18s at College Rifles this afternoon following a camp held last week at Mt Albert Grammar.
The camp, overseen by Tony Hanks and Shane King and attended by 70 players over the week, concentrated primarily on the development of technical, tactical, mental, physical, nutrition and personal leadership.
Players engaged with the current Blues team throughout the camp and also worked with former Blues players such as Paul Thompson, Slade McFarland, Justin Collins, Isa Nacewa and Ofisa Tonu’u.
A key objective was to deliver top quality coaching and presentations. The players worked with the Blues and ITM Cup coaches during the week and were also entertained and inspired by rugby commentator Scotty ‘Sumo’ Stevenson. The players received regular feedback from a team of dedicated positional coaches and other experts.
The players worked extremely hard over five long days and the attitude and effort was consistent with the high expectations set at the beginning of the camp and the Blues values. The parents were a big part of the camp, with a great turnout on day one and day five.
In a move from previous years, two games gives 48 players the chance to represent the Blues and put the camp learnings into practice. 19 schools from across the region are represented in the two teams who are coached by our Blues Provincial Union ITM Cup Coaches.
The players’ enthusiasm in training on Sunday was energetic and they can’t wait to get out and represent the Blues with pride on Monday.
The players will wear black armbands in remembrance of Jordan Kemp.

Blues White v Chiefs Black

1pm Kick Off, College Rifles
1. Antonio Ripata (AGS)
2. Tom Hardy (KC) (C)
3. Iosefa Pita (Aorere)
4. Leroy Jack (SPC)
5. Paripari Parkinson (SKC)
6. Luke Cunis (KBHS)
7. Jesse Chapman (Kamo HS)
8. Lona Halaholo (MAGS)
9. Lisati Milo-Harris (SPC)
10. Ciarahn Matoe (KC)
11. William Lea’aetoa (WBHS)
12. Amanaki Savieti (SHC)
13. James Cherrington (Whangarei Boys)
14. Jasiah Ioane (Rosmini)
15. Shaun Stevenson (AGS)
16. Victor Tu’ungafasi (Mangere College)
17. Ezekiel Lindermuth (MAGS)
18. Teague McElroy (Rosmini)
19. Jacques Pretorius (WBHS)
20. Richmond Tongatama (OC)
21. Lewis Gjaltema (Orewa)
22. Fraser Conway (Rosmini)
23. Tanielu Tele’a (SKC)
24. Tim Baas (Orewa)
25. Jacob Iakopo (OC)
Coaches: Derren Witcombe, George Konia, Alex O’Dowd
Managers: Grant Wilson, Ben Meyer
Physio: Fred Lait
Trainer: Jeremy Giles
Water Technicians: Dalton Papali’I (SKC), Wiseguy Faiane (AGS), Taeao Ola (OC)

Blues Blue v Chiefs White

2.30pm Kick-off, College Rifles
1. Taniela Tupou (SHC)
2. Romero Tagi (SPC) (C)
3. Sean Paranihi (SKC)
4. Sam Ulufonua (AGS)
5. Fin Hoeata (Dilworth)
6. Onehunga Havili (SHC)
7. Antonio Kata (Tangaroa)
8. Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a (Massey High School)
9. Sam Nock (SKC)
10. D’Angelo Leuila (Papatoetoe)
11. TJ Vaega (KBHS)
12. Chris Luau (MAGS)
13. Rieko Ioane (AGS)
14. Daniel Lee (Rosmini)
15. Jordan Trainor (SPC)
16. Brook Wilson (AGS)
17. Jake Antonio-Rooney (WBHS)
18. Sosefa Kautai (SHC)
19. Sam Slade (MAGS)
20. Jesse Chapman (Kamo HS)
21. Marius Tonu’u (OC)
22. Mose Wilson (Aorere)
23. Jonah Lowe (KC)
24. Ezra Meleisea (Aorere)
25. Jacob Iakopo (OC)
Coaches: Paul Feeney, Steve Jackson
Managers: Grant Wilson, Peter Nock
Physio: Fred Lait
Trainer: Jeremy Giles
Water Technicians: Dalton Papali’I (SKC), Wiseguy Faiane (AGS), Taeao Ola (OC)