Blues Under 18 Development Squad named

Blues Under 18 Development Squad named

The Blues will get a glimpse of some potential future stars after the 2014 Blues Under 18 Development squad was announced today to attend a training camp in July.

The squad features 55 players representing 20 schools throughout the Blues region of Northland, North Harbour and Auckland.
In conjunction with the Blues Region NZRU Selectors (overseen by convenor Shane King), the players were nominated and selected based on their potential to be considered for the New Zealand Schools team and/or who have the potential to become future professionals.
Over a four day camp from July 6-10 at Mt Albert Grammar School, the players will be exposed to top quality coaching and provided with support and education around the key development pillars – technical, tactical, nutrition, physical, mental and personal leadership.
The week will also give the national selectors, the Blues and their Provincial Unions the opportunity to see these players up close and personal in a camp environment.
“This is a great opportunity for the Blues to engage with the best young players from across the region and introduce them to what the Blues culture and environment is about and what it takes to become a professional rugby player,” Blues High Performance Manager Tony Hanks said.
“A key focus for us is looking to select players not just on athletic ability alone but digging a bit deeper and seeing how the guys perform off the field which is reflected in the fact that a number of the players chosen are captains, prefects or duxes of their respective schools.”
The 2014 Blues Under-18 Development Squad is:


Jake Antonio-Rooney (Westlake Boys High School)
Timothy Baas (Orewa College)
Tom Hardy (Kings College)
Ezekiel Lundermuth (Mt Albert Grammar School)
Saumani Matatia (Tangaroa College)
Teague McElroy (Rosmini College
Sean Paranihi (St Kentigern College)
Iosefa †Pita (Aorere College)
Romero Tagi (St Peters College)
Tyson Tapuosi (Onehunga High)
Daniel Tupou (Sacred Heart College)
Sesimani Tupou (St Kentigern College)
Victor Tu’ungafasi (Mangere College)
Brook Wilson (Auckland Grammar School)


Finn Hoeata (Dilworth College)
Leroy Jack (St Peters College)
Ezra Meleisea (Aorere College)
Paripari Parkinson (St Kentigern College)
Jacques Pretorius (Westlake Boys High School)
Samuel Slade (Mt Albert Grammar School)
Sam Ulufonua (Auckland Grammar School)


Brendan Bond (Westlake Boys High School)
Jesse Chapman (Kamo High School)
Luke Cunis (Kelston Boys High School)
Lona Halaholo (Mt Albert Grammar School)
Onehunga Havili (Sacred Heart College)
Antonio Kata (Tangaroa College)
Hauwai McGahan (Rosmini College)
Hapakuki Moala-Liava’a (Massey High School)
Dalton Papali’i (St Kentigern College)
Sam Taiseni (St Kentigern College)
Richmond Tongatama (Otahuhu College)


Haupeke Brown (Whangaroa College)
Ere Enari (St Kentigern College)
Lisati Milo-Harris (St Peters College)
Sam Nock (St Kentigern College)
Marius Tonuu (Otahuhu College)


Wiseguy Faiane (Auckland Grammar School)
D’Angelo Leiula (Papatoetoe High School)
Ciarahn Matoe (Kings College)
Moses Wilson (Aorere College)


Braydon Ennor (St Kentigern College)
Rieko Ioane (Auckland Grammar School)
Jonah Lowe (Kings College)
Levi McBirney (Westlake Boys High School)
Taeao Ola (Otahuhu College)
Amanaki Savieti (Sacred Heart College)


Patrick Herbert (St Kentigern College)
Jasiah Ioane (Rosmini College)
Daniel Lee (Rosmini College)
Shelford Murray (Kings College)
Shaun Stevenson (Auckland Grammar School)
Wesley Tameifuna (St Kentigern College)
Jordan Trainor (St Peters College)


Jerry Samania (St Kentigern College)
Sesimani Tupou (St Kentigern College)
Siope Ngata (Aorere College)