Blues Under-17 squad selected

Blues Under-17 squad selected

The Blues have selected 54 young rugby players for the 2016 Blues Under 17 Development Squad.

The young players from the Blues region have been selected based on their character qualities, rugby specific abilities and physical attributes. They will attend a one-day development camp in December followed up with a second one-day development camp in January, during which the players will be introduced to the Blues player development programme.

Blues High Performance Manager Tony Hanks described the camps as an important opportunity to enhance aspiration and player development within the Blues region and to connect with the parents of these talented young men.

ìTo be selected for the Blues Under 17 squad is a significant selection for aspiring rugby players in our region and it’s always competitive,î said Hanks. ìEach of these young guys will receive development support and information from the Blues staff and players.î

The development days will cover personal leadership, pastoral care, mental skills, nutrition, physical preparation, technical and tactical, position specific and an introduction to individual performance plans. Parents of the players will also attend a full day of sessions on day one.

ìThe parents play a massive part in the development and growth of our young men, so we want to provide support, information and tips to assist them at the beginning,î said Hanks.

Recent graduates from the Under-17 programme include 2016 Blues squad members Sam Nock (2013) and Rieko Ioane (2014).

First Name, Surname, School, Provincial Union
Brady Rush, Kerikeri High School, Northland
John Cooper, Okaihau College, Northland
Thomas Shepherd, Whangaroa College, Northland
Thomas Anderson, Dargaville High School, Northland
Jaydon Connolly, Rodney College, Northland
Judah Andrews, Whangarei Boys High, Northland
Scott Gregory, Whangarei Boys High, Northland
Dion Hinge, Whangarei Boys High, Northland

Miracle Naititi, Massey High School, North Harbour
Connor Leather, Rosmini College, North Harbour
Tamarau McGahan, Rosmini College, North Harbour
David Meki, Rosmini College, North Harbour
Reegan Pukepuke, Rangitoto College, North Harbour
Finlay Brewis, Westlake Boys, North Harbour
Harry Collard, Westlake Boys, North Harbour
Jack, Heighton, Westlake Boys, North Harbour
Lotu Inisi, Westlake Boys, North Harbour
Caleb Havili, Edgewater, Auckland
Vaiese Su’a, Edgewater, Auckland
Tyberg Mauafua, Ormiston, Auckland
Lemeki Namoa, Sacred Heart, Auckland
Fatongia Paea, Sacred Heart , Auckland
Sione Funaki, Sacred Heart, Auckland
Albert Ngata, Aorere College, Auckland
Lafaele Ikenasio, De La Salle , Auckland
Ronnie Matapula, De La Salle, Auckland
Obey Samate, De La Salle, Auckland
Millenium Saneviri, Kings College, Auckland
Spencer Fruean, Otahuhu College, Auckland
Otunuku Pauta, Otahuhu College, Auckland
Thornton Edmonds, Papatoetoe High School, Auckland
JP Papani, St Kentigern College, Auckland
Rivez Reihana, St Kentigern College, Auckland
Dakohta Taimani, St Kentigern College, Auckland
Heremoni Nepo, Kelston, Auckland
Fa’alae Peni, Kelston, Auckland
Tuna Tautalafua, Kelston, Auckland
Maxwell Toailoa, Kelston, Auckland
Ezra Vai, Kelston, Auckland
Jack Casey-Pickering, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Robb Cobb, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Noah Foster, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Harley Maynard, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Patrick Pati, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Roderick Puafisi, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Oliver Shepherd, Mt Albert Grammar, Auckland
Maui Rawiri, Waitakere College, Auckland
Isileli Manu, Dilworth School, Auckland
Kalima Tafea, Dilworth School, Auckland
Emanuel Tuiamavave-Gerrard, Marcellin College, Auckland
Callum Bean, Auckland Grammar, Auckland
Sam Johnson, Auckland Grammar, Auckland
Tovo Faleafa, Auckland Grammar, Auckland
Hector Law, Auckland Grammar, Auckland