7 Blues players named in All Blacks training squad

7 Blues players named in All Blacks training squad

Seven Blues players will be attending an All Blacks training camp in Auckland this week ahead of the Investec Rugby Championship.
The training camp will be held on the North Shore from Wednesday 31 July to Thursday 1 August.
Prop Charlie Faumuina has recovered from a calf tear to be named in the squad, along with Keven Mealamu, Steven Luatua, Piri Weepu, Rene Ranger, Francis Saili and Charles Piutau.
Note: Chiefs players in contention for the All Blacks will not attend the camp as they are preparing for the Investec Super Rugby Final.

The players attending the camp are as follows:



Dane Coles, Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu.


Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Ben Franks, Owen Franks and Tony Woodcock.


Luke Romano, Jeremy Thrush and Samuel Whitelock.

Loose Forwards:

Steven Luatua, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read, Brad Shields, Matt Todd and Victor Vito.



TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith and Piri Weepu.

First five-eighths:

Beauden Barrett and Daniel Carter.


Ma’a Nonu, Rene Ranger, Francis Saili and Conrad Smith.

Outside backs:

Israel Dagg, Charles Piutau, Julian Savea and Ben Smith.

The squad for the Investec Rugby Championship will be named on Sunday 4 August and the All Blacks will assemble in Wellington on Friday 9 August to prepare for the opening Test of the Championship against Australia in Sydney on Saturday 17 August.