Team named for N’land Barbarians

Team named for N’land Barbarians

A team of 27 has been named to play the Northland Barbarians, providing new and established players alike with the opportunity to test out combinations ahead of the return to Super Rugby on July 2.


The team to play the Northland Barbarians is:

1 Sam Prattley (FR)

2 James Parsons (FR) (C)

3 Sione Mafileo (FR)

4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti

5 Josh Bekhuis

6 Hoani Matenga

7 Kara Pryor

8 Joe Edwards

9 Billy Guyton

10 Piers Francis

11 Tevita Li

12 Matt McGahan

13 Michael Little

14 Matt Duffie

15 Melani Nanai


Quentin MacDonald (FR)

Matt Moulds (FR)

Namatahi Waa (FR)

Nic Mayhew (FR)

Scott Scrafton

Brandon Nansen

Blake Gibson

Bryn Hall

Will Talataina Mu

Matt Vaega

Afa Fa’atau

Lolagi Visinia

Coach Tana Umaga said the game is an opportunity for the team to practice their combinations and work flow on the field before the season recommences.

“Northland Rugby Union is providing a great opportunity for us to get on to the field and have a good hit out, especially as we haven’t played together for three weeks,” said Umaga. “We’re taking everything in to this game that we would into a regular season match. The boys have been training pretty hard and I know they’re all ready to get back onto the field and play as a team.”

The June international window has been an opportunity for players and coaches to gain some representative experience. Now we’re preparing our return to Super Rugby for the final three regular season rounds, beginning with a match against the Northland Barbarians at Toll Stadium this Friday.

Northland is one of the Blues’ key catchment areas, with five players from the region earning Blues contracts this season: Matt Moulds, Kara Pryor, Jack Ram, Sam Nock and Namatahi Waa.


Kick-off is at 6.30pm. Tickets are available from the Northland website and at the gates.