17 players from Blues U18 in NZ squads

17 players from Blues U18 in NZ squads

The 2015 New Zealand Schools and Barbarians Schools squads have been announced by New Zealand Rugby. Included in the 52-player roster are 17 Blues Under-18 players from Auckland and North Harbour.

The two teams will face one another in Palmerston North on Saturday before New Zealand Schools departs for a three match international series in Australia.

The series, to be played at venues across Brisbane between Thursday 24 September – Friday 2 October, will see New Zealand Schools play Samoa Schools, Australia Schools and Australia Schools Barbarians.

Blues Under 18s in the New Zealand Schools team:
Caleb Clarke Mt Albert Grammar School Wing Auckland
Wiseguy Faiane Auckland Grammar School First Five Auckland
Dalton Papalii St Kentigern College Loose Forward Auckland
Samuel Slade Mt Albert Grammar School Lock Auckland
To’o Junior (TJ) Vaega Kelston Boys’ High School Wing Auckland
Takaji Young Yen King’s College Prop Auckland

Blues Under 18s in the New Zealand Barbarians team:

Melino Fineanganofo Auckland Grammar School Halfback Auckland
Lewis Gjaltema Orewa College Halfback Auckland
James Little Takapuna Grammar School Midfield North Harbour
Isitolo Maka Sacred Heart College Lock Auckland
Ciarahn Matoe King’s College First Five Auckland
Ajay Mua King’s College Loose Forward Auckland
Jacob Pierce Rosmini College Lock North Harbour
Antonio Ripata Auckland Grammar School Prop Auckland
Ben Sau De La Salle College Lock Auckland
Bailyn Sullivan King’s College Midfield Auckland
Freedom Vaha’akolo Auckland Grammar School Wing Auckland
New Zealand Schools and New Zealand Barbarians Schools fixtures:

Date: Saturday 19 September
Who: NZ Schools v NZ Barbarians Schools
Venue: Palmerston North Boys’ High School
Time: 12.30pm

Date: Thursday 24 September
Who: NZ Schools v Samoa Schools
Venue: Sunnybank RFC, Brisbane
Time: 1pm local; 3pm NZ

Date: Monday 28 September
Who: NZ Schools v Australian Barbarians Schools
Venue: St Joseph’s College, Brisbane
Time: 6pm local; 8pm NZ

Date: Friday 2 October
Who: NZ Schools v Australia Schools
Venue: Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane
Time: 6pm local; 8pm NZ

We want to wish these young men all the best for their upcoming matches, from everybody here at the Blues.